More website posting

Content is very important within a website, even with a good use of images and graphics, the person viewing the page is looking for what the page is about. As well as content being present, being able to find the relevant content easily is just as important. I have achieved this by putting links to my work (relevant content for future employers) straight on my home page, without having to scroll through endless pictures or writing, the user can find exactly what they are looking for by clicking the labelling links underneath my header image, or by clicking the image icons.

A website with poor language skills will suffer in popularity, to make sure that my site is spelling and grammar error free I will be checking over everything written and then asking multiple people to check over it for me.

Making my website easy on the eye as well as easy to navigate is important to me. I have made sure to use short sentences within my writing on my site, to avoid babbling on and confusing the reader and ultimately making them miss the parts they actually want to read. Avoiding too much colour is something I need to focus on next, as at the moment my logo and background are full colour and I am thinking of changing one of the two into a two tone colour design. This will make this less distracting for the user. My site is also responsive so the site doesn’t get scrambled up when viewed on other devices or just full screen. This will be beneficial for the viewer as they will get the full experience as it should be, and the user will not suffer with trying to navigate through a rather confusing interface.

My site also has a pretty quick loading time which means the user will be more likely to stay and view my page without becoming bored of waiting and navigate elsewhere.

Navigating to the main home screen is simple, all pages link back to it, apart from the blog and linked in pages as they are not within my site. To navigate to the home screen it is done by pressing the house shaped icon, I chose to use an image instead of words as it’s more universally understood and it also contrasts with the writing so that people that are skim reading through the page will not have to try to find the word ‘home’. This makes it easier for someone who clicked on the wrong page, perhaps.

Leave a Reply

